"Kadyn's Law" Reminders For Proper Stop Procedures | Families
The Iowa Department of Transportation wishes to encourage motorists when it is illegal to pass a stopped school bus on any public or private roadway or driveway.
“Kadyn’s Law” went into effect on March 16th 2012 with Governor Branstad’s signature. The new law increases the penalties for drivers who fail to abide the law on stopped school buses. The previous fine for passing a stopped bus was $200; the new law increased the penalty to $250 to $675 with the possibility of up to 30 days in jail for the first violation. Second violation could produce up to $1,875 in fines.
Here are reminders of when and how to properly stop for a school bus:
- When traveling on a two-lane or three-lane road:
- When nearing the bus from the rear: drivers must stop when either the amber lights or red lights are flashing and must stop no closer than 15 feet from the bus.
- When approaching the bus from the front: drivers must slow vehicle speed to 20 mph when amber lights are flashing and stop when the lights change to red and the arm comes out. Vehicle must remain stopped until the lights stop flashing and the stop arm is withdrawn.
- When traveling on a road with two or more lanes in each direction:
- When nearing the bus from the rear: stop when amber or red lights are flashing and stop no closer than 15 feet from the bus.
- When approaching the bus in one of the opposite two lanes (or more), you do not need to stop even if the bus has stopped with lights flashing and stop arm out. The bus is not permitted to load or unload children who must cross this type of roadway unless there are official traffic control devices or police officers present.
In addition to the above reminders, drivers should remember never to pass a bus on the right. Violations of Iowa’s motor vehicle laws should be reported to local law enforcement.